The value of reading

It has been well established that pleasure reading is an indicator of school success. 

The impact of Pleasure Reading on Academic Success

The Value of Independent Reading: Analysis of Research

The Value of Reading

The three methods of encouraging children to read at school that I am familiar with are

  • 20 minutes silent reading on a daily basis
  • A reading lesson lead by english teacher or teacher-librarian which involves conferencing and reporting
  • Reading lessons not involving conferencing, teacher-librarian lead involving activities and reading.

I’ve never worked in a school which has a daily silent reading time but I have conferenced and written reading / library reports. At my present school we take five minutes at the beginning of each library session to introduce new books, or look at themes and genres. I loved being read to in Primary School and I have read to younger children up to grade six. It’s one of the pleasures of the job. Over the years at this school I have sat down and read with the kids, I believe strongly in role modelling reading and trying to instil a love of reading into the students. 

This year the T/Ls will work with the English Teachers in classes and conference with students. I’m looking forward to that.

Modelling reading

10 ways to get the most out of silent reading in schools 

Conferencing: The Heart of Reading and Writing Workshop

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *